Lone Scout Program
Keith Larson

The original Lone Scouts created by William D. Boyce worked on an advancement program called Degrees, a term probably borrowed from the Masons.  The first three degrees had their own badge.  The fourth through sixth degrees were called the Totem Pole Lodge.  The highest degree was seventh or Sagamore Lodge.

Lone Scout First Degree Lone Scout Second Degree
Lone Scout Second Degree

Merit Medals were awarded for contributing articles and stories to the Lone Scout (and later Boy's Life) magazines or other publications.  For examples see The Chronicle Tribal Paper with Stamp Collecting Articles or A Few Correspondence Pointers.  The first 100 points awarded earned a Bronze Medal, the next 100 points a Silver Medal, and the next 100 points a Gold Medal.  After that one could work towards the highest award in this series - the Gold Quill award.  View the complete collection of Lone Scout awards.

The Lone Scout program had a complete set of books to support Scouts working on each degree.

Lone Scout Handbook Lone Scout First Degree

Lone Scout Second Degree Lone Scout Third Degree

Lone Scout Forth Degree Lone Scout Fifth Degree

Lone Scout Sixth Degree Lone Scout Seventh Degree

After the Lone Scouts merged with the Boy Scouts of America, the Degree program was dropped for the rank and badge program of the BSA.

Lone Scouts
SOSSI Lone Scouts Home Page